Starting Spring in Sorrento

Sorrento, Italy

A short & personal entry on my Family and I’s relaxing vacation in Southern Italy.


IMG_3773.jpgIMG_3423.jpgAbove are two similar pictures from the Hotel we stayed at for the week. You can see part of the town of Sorrento, the Mediterranean, and Mount Vesuvius in the distance.

During our time there we did a lot of exploring outside of Sorrento, including excursions to the Amalfi Coast, Pompeii & Vesuvius, and the Italian Island of Capri.

Being in Southern Italy has easily been one of the best trips I’ve been on during my time studying abroad. I have enjoyed making new memories with my family and it has been such a treat having them visiting me!

In Sorrento specifically, my family and I enjoyed wandering the streets of the city, window shopping, and eating a lot of delicious food.

Some of our local restaurant favorites are the following:

  • Da Gigino,
  • L’Antica Trattoria,
  • Donna Sofia, and
  • Il Borgo

So if you take a trip to Sorrento, check these out for sure.

Overall our trip was a very relaxing one. Each morning, would wake up slowly and enjoy the morning sun together. This part of our day was of course accompanied by lots of cafe!!! Then we would go out and explore the town or do whatever we wanted. It is always our family’s goal to try to immerse ourselves in the local life-wherever we are vacationing. By this point we would get hungry for a late lunch/snack. In Italy there is surly no shortage of divine treats to indulge in, so you can take your pick. After all this delicious food, we would enjoy a late afternoon nap. Our relaxing days here were much needed, in my opinion!


I am so thankful for my parents for giving me the opportunity to see wonderful and unique places like Sorrento. There is nothing like being in a beautiful place surrounded by the people you love & who love you. Thank you Mom and Dad for all your support and the laughs! I will miss you as you head onto Madrid and then back home.

Ciao ciao for now!

(1 month of Study Abroad left)
Leave a Reply

