Adventure 3 of my journey to understanding Roman Catholicism

And we were off again. Another early Tuesday morning where I embarked with my classmates to see some more of Rome’s finest. Today’s stops included San Clemente, Santo Stefano Rotondo, Santa Maria in Domnica, and San Pietro in Vincoli.

You can find these spots near the Colosseum. We happened to take the 913 bus to Cipro, and then A line Metro to B line metro to end up at San Clemente. It was a long haul, but worth it in my opinion. Any time I get exploring Rome is a treasure.

Below are some snaps and a brief history of each place.

San Clemente

IMG_1813

IMG_1814
The side entrance to the Basilica San Clemente.
IMG_1818
The main aisle and alter of the Basilica. I loved the fresh Laurel leaves here! I learned that having them on the floor like that is a sign of an accomplishment-in this case, probably a wedding took place. I love the leaves’ smell so much that I am inspired to use this Laurel carpet at my wedding! I love the orange and reds in the back alter piece. The marble isn’t bad either.
IMG_1817
Just another amazing Basilica ceiling. These never get old!
IMG_1821.jpg
The back atrium of San Clemente. It was a gorgeous day, so I enjoyed being outside and catching some fresh air.

Unfortunately I did not bring with me 5 euro, so I did not get to go down into the excavation beneath San Clemente. Apparently, it’s very cool though and I missed out. Below what you see here from my pictures are many layers of archaeological history that are still yet to be discovered. There are ruins dating from the 1st and 4th century below the San Clemente that stands today (dated around the 10th century).

Santo Stefano Rotondo

IMG_1825.jpg
The only picture I managed to take while at Santo Stefano Rotondo. I really enjoyed the look of this place, even through it solely features extremely gruesome frescos from the 4th century. The site was created under Constantine’s rule.

The building itself is circular (rotondo). It is known that these types of buildings were used for funeral memorials. The interesting features within Santo Stefano are the frescos that depict the different tactics of Martyrdom in the early centuries. The paintings are very sad, bloody, and gruesome. They are very powerful and impactful though because it shows that many people before us gave up their lives for us.

The church is in honor of Saint Stephan and Stephan I who was the first Christian king of Hungary and Christian Martyr. In 1969, it was revealed through excavation that the site was never converted from a Pagan Temple, but was always used as  Christian church. Today, this is the national church of Hungary here in Rome.

This is a spot where our teacher asked us to pray for those whom are marginalized today and to recognize the acts of Martyrdom from before and now.

Santa Maria in Domnica

IMG_1827.jpg
The alter and ceiling of Santa Maria in Domnica. As you can see, Mary is the focus of worship here. It is a site to honor the strong women in history and our contemporary lives.

This particular church is thought to date from the 3rd Century as a meeting place for some of the first Christians in Rome. The space was also used to aid poor people who needed somewhere to be cared for. Santa Maria is located very close to the Colosseum, so a lot of vagrants would travel here for shelter. In Domnica is thought to mean “of the Lord.” Not to be confused with Domenica (which means Sunday-yes I made this mistake).

San Pietro in Vincoli

Our final stop of the day was San Pietro in Vincoli which means “Saint Peter in Chains.” This is where the chains that imprisoned Peter for the first time are located as a relic. Like Jesus’ shroud from my last Roman Catholicism post, this was another surreal experience for me. I had no clue that we still had artifacts such as this still around. Of course, like I said before, no one knows if these are the true chains that bound Peter, but they have been deemed a relic for thousands of years.

If you want to see where in the Bible it mentions Peter’s imprisonment, go to Acts 12:6-7.

Side Story…

While I was taking the pictures of the chains and examining them, an Italian woman came up to me and said “Questa?” (what are those) and I got the chance to explain what they were to her in (very broken) Italian. It was a cool learning moment to know that I have learned a couple of things while Abroad.

IMG_1838.jpg
The main altarpiece relic of San Pietro in Vincoli, Peter’s chains.

Thanks for reading! I find blogging very fun and I’m happy that a lot of my friends have been reading what I write! A brief history… I found a passion for writing in High School. I was on the High School newspaper for 3.5 years. I especially enjoyed writing the Opinions column. For a while I thought I would major in Journalism, but for now it is just a side hobby.

I really appreciate you all taking the time to read what I have to say (or at least look at my pictures). Please feel free to leave a comment or share my posts on Facebook! I do plan on pursuing this throughout the rest of College, so save the link to your bookmarks too!

Let me know what you think of what I have to say-I love feedback and to hear from my readers.

I have a lot of new posts in the making about travels and tips.

Lots of love & Ciao Ciao!!!

Leave a Reply

