il colosseo

My first experience at the Roman Colosseum was remarkable! This Saturday was one of the all time favorite days I’ve ever had. 

I’m sitting here in my room writing this blog post while eating un cornetto con creama from last night and listening to the birds chirp out my window.

This moment is almost as blissful as the first time I experienced the famous Roman Colosseum.

The drive from Monte Mario to the Colosseum is spectacular. At risk of sounding like an idiot, I truly didn’t know how much historical wonder I was walking into when I decided to study abroad in Rome. Of course, I knew about the Colosseum and the gladiators, but I never knew just how much diverse and rich history that Rome held aside from this. Although I’m writing a separate blog post about the Roman Forum and my explorations around the city, I wanted to include how truly naive I was walking into this experience to reveal to anyone else who might come to Rome soon that you could spend years here and still not see everything and still find wonder! The pictures you google, the Lizzie Maguire movie, and the travel books truly cannot do this wonderful and magical place justice!

As you could have guessed, the Colosseum was packed (even for off season)–I am not sure I want to know what this place is like in the middle of Summer! We had a special group pass, so it was a short line for us to get in. Every square inch of this place is just as picturesque and interesting as I imagined, so waiting in line was just fine!

The people working on the restoration and preservation of the Colosseum are truly doing a remarkable job. It is hard to believe that the Colosseum was originally built out of pure marble. Unfortunately, only small parts are still made of marble (remember how old this thing is). They keep large chunks of original marble on display, though, and are truly doing their best to keep the place looking as realistic and authentic as possible.

I cannot even imagine what this place was like in its pristine state. A lot of people don’t know this, but most of the Colosseum was destroyed by Earthquakes which struck rome in the 1st and 2nd century. Allora, it is truly amazing that we can even still experience it today 20 centuries later!

There are three parts of experiencing the Colosseum: an outer upper level where you can see the entire Colosseum, 2 inner levels which act as a museum, and the lower outside level where you can look at the beneath the floor ruins (last picture). None of it is “missable “so take time to do it all (even read the explanations in the Museum). Also, there is a lower platform for private tours (not pictured).

We went on a cold, windy, and cloudy day and it was still great! I can’t wait to go back in a couple months when my family comes to visit. I don’t think the grandeur of this place will ever fade.

Thanks for reading!

Baci Baci & Ciao mi amici

IMG_0452IMG_0462IMG_0446IMG_0474IMG_0488IMG_0596

Shoutout to Hannah for letting me borrow her cute scarf!

Leave a Reply

